Putting the wallet away

If you know me at all, you know I’m obsessed with Twitter. My co-workers like to joke that I “work in-between tweets”. (I’m not that bad… I swear!)

But anyways, I love Twitter because I can aggregate everything I love into one place. It’s easier to check my feed while I’m working, as opposed to visiting every single one of my favorite websites.

Today, my breath caught in my throat when I saw the following update from WORD, a local indie bookseller in my neighborhood:

Chuck Klosterman (Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs) is one of my favorite writers. I always said that if I could write like him, I’d be good to go. Which is why, instead, I’m writing a blog. Ahem.

Tickets for the event are $20, and there’s only 50 available. And it’s going to be held at Lulu’s, which y’all know I’m a fan of. A small, intimate gathering with my favorite author, AND drink specials? Yes please!

Most days I would have blindly purchased tickets. I mean, this is a no-brainer, right? Being able to go to events like these is one of the reasons you live in New York City! Today, however, was different.

I got to the checkout portion of the ticket-buying process when I forced myself to re-evaluate. See, this wouldn’t be my first time seeing Klosterman. And when I met him, he signed my copy of Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs. I also embarrassed myself by saying something asinine about dinosaurs. (If you want that story, it’s a two-drink minimum, sorry!)

Did I really need to go to this again? No, not really. Would I have enjoyed myself? Absolutely. Curious as to what changed my mind?

After some major thought the past couple of weeks, I decided what my new dream is:

I want to run my own business.

To do this, you need money. Like, a lot. And from this blog, you know it’s not something I have much of. So, in the interest of my dream, and in taking baby steps, I exited from the ticket website without purchasing.

I’ve got a lot of work to do between now and getting my act together if I ever want to start my own company. Sacrifices will have to be made; harder ones than deciding not to purchase tickets to an author discussion. I know I’m going to be bummed the evening of the 13th, when I’ll be holing up in a coffee shop to do work instead of hanging out with Chuck Klosterman.

But each baby step will get me closer to realizing my dream! As long as I keep making decisions with my business in mind, I’ll get there someday. Eventually. Right?

About Lisette

I'm just a broke chick chasing her big city dreams.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Money, Wealth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Putting the wallet away

  1. Jake Voytko says:

    I almost fell out of my chair when I read this post. You willingly denied yourself a purchase over money issues?! Inconceivable!

  2. Jeff Hollis says:

    Don’t forget to live your life while you’re young… I’ve started a few failed businesses and gave up trying to invest in entrepreneurship to be able to drink beer, waste money, and be happy. I guess it all depends on what you want to do, though.

  3. Dave says:

    Didn’t we see him speak at Rutgers?

Leave a comment