A girl’s gotta eat

Yes, Oliver wants some more.

In terms of basic survival, being able to eat probably ranks #1 on the list. Humans can live in all kinds of places, but food is non-negotiable. You don’t eat, you die.

But I’ve come to realize that in New York City, food seems to be second on the survival list. This is due to the high cost of rent. Once that rent check clears, then you can think about what’s for dinner.

Luckily, the city has hundreds of places and every cuisine imaginable to satiate your appetite. Ethiopian? Live octopus? You just have to track it down.

At this point, I’m sure you see a common thread emerging. Like everything else here, food can be pretty expensive. So on the days you can’t afford that live octopus, where can you eat on the cheap?

For groceries, I highly recommend Trader Joe’s in Union Square. They have a huge selection of organic goods, produce, cheeses, and even bath/home products. I might pay $3 for one avocado in my neighborhood, but Trader Joe’s will give you two for $4. This place has the most normal prices I’ve seen anywhere in the city. Pro tip: shopping here is a contact sport. Be prepared for long lines, crabby customers, and competition over the last bag of Identity Crisis tortilla chips.

Another note on groceries: your tiny kitchen will help you save money. Only buy the basics, such as milk, eggs, cheese, bread, peanut butter, cereal, etc. If you like to cook, try hitting your neighborhood’s farmer’s market for high-quality, locally-grown food. No kitchen is too tiny for cooking! My first roommate made roast chicken and mashed potatoes in a 6′ x 2′ space.

If you’re serious about saving money, try the following tip first dispensed by Benjamin Franklin:

Become a vegetarian.

I myself keep a vegetarian/pescatarian diet. When eating out, I’ve noticed that items without meat tend to be cheaper. (Of course, fish can be more expensive than meat! It all depends on where/what you’re eating, and how it’s prepared). Other bonuses I’ve experienced for going meatless include feeling healthier and losing weight.

Any of your hard-earned, meticulously saved money can easily go down the drain when eating out (like at Falai). This is where working on a budget can really suck. You want to hang out with friends, but you can’t afford a $30-or-more meal. The obvious answer is to pick and choose when you go out.

But some bars and restaurants will give you more bang for your buck. A Greenpoint favorite is Lulu’s, which gives you a free personal pizza with every beer. That’s a meal for as little as $4! Lulu’s is best visited on weeknights when crowds are sparse.

If you’re just looking for a quick bite, I recommend Oasis in Williamsburg. A Mediterranean joint, Oasis sells falafel sandwiches for $3 ($0.50 extra for hummus) and cans of soda for $1. I also love Bagelsmith for breakfast, because their bagels are bangin’ AND there’s no credit card minimum!

Moral of this post? With a little investigation and a lot of creativity, you won’t go hungry. And that goes for everyone.

About Lisette

I'm just a broke chick chasing her big city dreams.
This entry was posted in Community, Food, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A girl’s gotta eat

  1. julie says:

    Vanessa’s dumplings (LES & East Village)!! 5 veggie or pork dumplings for $2, sesame pancake for .99, and lots of other super cheap and super yummy options. You can easily get a large meal for $5.

  2. mgot78 says:

    NYC is a faded memory for me. Does Burritoville still exist?

  3. Helen E. Raineri says:

    hi Lisette, very interesting reading. I love New York and used to go quite frequently
    I loved the Hungarian neighborhood in the east 80’s. Great restaurants!!!!!!!!!
    Love you, Aunt Helen

  4. Force Factor says:

    Hello there! I thought I would send a short comment since I’ve spent the better part of the past half hour perusing through your site posts. I’m impressed with the quality of writing you have got yourself here, and I’ll undoubtedly be back to say whats up again later on. Anyway I won’t occupy any more of your time, I simply desired to say good day and enjoy the week.

  5. Pingback: Putting the wallet away | Broke in NYC

Leave a comment